spoke tightening - Kawasaki KLR 650 Forum
Go Back   Kawasaki KLR 650 Forum > KLR 650 > 2008+ KLR650 Wrenching & Mod Questions

2008+ KLR650 Wrenching & Mod Questions For repair, maintaining or modifying discussions related to the newly updated 2008 and beyond, Generation 2 KLR650 Motorcycle.

Old 04-01-2012, 03:36 PM
Colonel

Default spoke tightening

i noticed the other day i have a few spoke that make a vibrating noise when i run my fingers across them. i know this means i need to tighten them. ive looked for other threads and found some info but mostly about trueing the rim. i have a few questions as i have never done this before.

1: do i need to deflate the tire/take out the tube?
2: is there a specific torque # they need to be tightened to?
3: other than the spoke tool what do you guys use to do it? crecent wrench?

anyway any hands on info is welcomed. thanks
Advertisement

Old 04-01-2012, 06:21 PM
K-9 Moderator

Send a message via Yahoo to flash

I'm sure this is not the right way to do it just my low tech method.

Tires inflated, wheel raised off the ground. I take a 10mm wrench and tap each spoke and listen to the tone. If I find one that that doesn't ring true and makes a dull "thud" sound that indicates it is either loose or broken. I have a spoke wrench and tighten till it rings like the rest.

I thought about a torque wrench for spokes and that may be fine for a new wheel but if all the threads on the spokes and nipples are not clean and free of any corrosion torque is a poor indicator of actual spoke stretch.

Look it up on the interwebs and you will find some good articles on how to do it right.

Unknown
Old 04-01-2012, 08:27 PM
Colonel

Quote:
Originally Posted by flash View Post
I'm sure this is not the right way to do it just my low tech method.