Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 107 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
PS. Am not wanting to buy a newer model until I have some miles of riding experience on & off road. I definitely want to get into back country...

·
Registered
120 Posts
As far as a first bike, a '93 would be great because you can't hurt it, and if you managed to break it, it wont cost much to repair. Are you tall? I think the tall seat height of the KLR can be intimidating and may make it difficult to feel confident at stops.

Very low miles on a bike make me nervous. How low are you talking? When did those miles get put on it? If the guy has put on say 1k or more in the last year it's probably a fine purchase. A lot of the rubber bits can dry out just sitting (fork seals, hoses, o-rings, some gaskets). Now, it could make for a fantastic learning opportunity repairing your own bike! It sort of depends on how much you may want to futz with it.

edit: Actually, if you inspect the bike pretty well, you're bound to find some leaking seals or something and might be able to get yourself a nice bargain. They are easy bikes to work on....

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Wow! Thanks so much!! Very very helpful!!
I'm 6'2" and I have never ridden a KLR, only sat on a new one in a show room (near Indpls, IN) where I live. The seat hight seemed to be fine...
Re actual miles, it has only 1,400 so must have sat most of its life I'd guess. The seller says the carb has been rebuilt and something in the fuel line replaced. (Don't remember what that's called)
I'm fairl adept with tools and figuring out things mechanical so the idea of working on it is comfortable.. And I do like the idea of learning to work on bikes in general...

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Also, I am going through a dealer so I can't talk to the (one only) original owner, but am under impression the bike had not been ridden in recent years. The dealer says they cleaned it up and it runs great...