Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I purchased a 2008 KLR last year in the summer of 2008 from the manager of a local Kawasaki dealership, it was an early release model with less than 5000K on it. I drove the bike for about 2k before it became very apparent I was burning oil. At first I got the run around from Kawy that it was normal, then I huffed and puffed and they agreed it wasn’t. Kawasaki agreed to do the ring fix on the bike and when winter came my local shop (still 380k away) honed the cylinder and replaced the rings.
This year I started riding in June. I put another 3000k on the bike before I had the same trouble again. Burning oil. On a 400k ride at no more than 120k she burnt 600ml. I find this excessive. My local dealer agreed to contact Kawy again and I contacted them myself. Kawasaki says that they will pay for the tear down but if they don’t find anything wrong I will have to pay.

Note: Kawasaki pays set amounts for warranty work at set rates. My local shop would charge me their actual time and much higher rates to do the same job..so, it is in the shops best interest not to find anything wrong and have me pay for it.

Note: This is the same shop that charges me 1 hour per tire at a shop rate of 100 dollars to change and balance.
I don’t think they checked the cylinder on the original tear down, they just honed it and changed the rings. I believe that I have a cylinder that is out of round or is imperfect in some way thus trashing the rings after a few thousand K’s.

So my dilemma becomes:

1. Have the original dealership that I have little faith in do the work on my bike and hope they find the problem and have Kawasaki replace the cylinder and rings. (still involves a 4 hour drive each way and leaving my bike there for them to “get to” and machine

2. Driving to the next closest Kawasaki dealership to get the work done (involves a 7 hour drive an overnight and then x2 to retrieve the machine)