Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just picked up a 2012 KLR650 with only 1900 miles on it. I have ridden it for about 400 miles and just started noticing a weird rattle that sometimes shows up when I open the throttle. It almost seems like it coincides with when I need to shift.

Right now from what I can tell, with the bike in neutral, when I give it gas it rattles about halfway through.

I thought it was the cheap skid plate because the ends seemed to move, but when I held them down, the noise is still audible.

Is it possibly the doohickey, chain slipping?

It honestly sounds like something loose rattling, but is too consistent with the throttle.

Also I have heard it in several gears, not just in neutral. Also heard it upshifting and downshifting.

Any help is appreciated since I am new to these bikes.

TIA.

·
Administrator
3,564 Posts
You could try giving the doohickey an adjustment.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That's actually a good, common sense idea. Lol

You know what they say about common sense.

Thx.

Does it sound like the doo could be the issue?

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well I adjusted it and the problem persists.

Anyone have ideas.

I am going to pull the skid plate tomorrow and see if I can see anything down there. It really sounds like something is loose externally, but since I am not familiar with this bike I am not sure.

·
Lifetime Member
2,482 Posts
Well I adjusted it and the problem persists.

Anyone have ideas.

I am going to pull the skid plate tomorrow and see if I can see anything down there. It really sounds like something is loose externally, but since I am not familiar with this bike I am not sure.