Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Threadjacker
6,768 Posts
Hmmm. My bike doesn't start feeling like it's going to explode til indicated 80-90, but it sure does shake a lot at 70 ... and 50 ... and 30. Thump thump. :)

Is this the first time you've gone that fast on two wheels?

·
Registered
171 Posts
what is ur rpm at 70mph.

my rpm hovers around 5000 at 85mph...
i have a bigger pinion, i think 16 teeth i dont remember, 1 tooth bigger than OEM.

it makes a huge difference.
the bike is very comfortable up to 90 95mph.

·
Registered
171 Posts
bandit will also kill you faster :D.

RIDE SAFE!. 140 IS NUTS.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Yes it is my first time at 70 on a bike, explode was an overstatement haha. I guess the rev is new to me. Book said under 4krpms till 600 miles. Ive been true to that at now 250 miles, cept two occasions lol. I cant remember exact rpms but i dont think it was too far from 5. It was also a terrible road into the wind. Ive found a good place to ride, but its a 30 minute cruise at least on interstate. Windy area between Pensacola and Mobile

·
Registered
171 Posts
it will take saddle time to get confidence on the bike in the wind and speed.

i remember my first freeway ride, it was scary, i was always scared to be blown away or losing control.

but as long as you are moving, you wont fall or anything happens to you, just keep your hands comfortable and relaxed on the handlebars, don't correct it when steering feels loose or the bike follow some tracks, just like it roll.

the real key to stay comfortable at speed, is to have your hands lightly on the handle bars, and lean to turn. :D

if u want to practice steering control, RIDE ON SAND :D

Reactions: E7SHRP9 and Lockjaw

·
Registered
171 Posts
seems good. mine is 5000rpm at 82 84mph.

·
Premium Member
6,678 Posts
I feel like it wants to explode lol. Maybe its the newness of me going 70