Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,

Noob adv rider. I have been riding bikes for 15 years but only street & used a heavy trusted pair of Doc Martens.

But... New to the klr and ADV riding has persuaded me to look for a dual sport boot- for protection sake I want a full length MX style boot, which I can actually walk around a bit in and not cost a fortune.

It has boiled down to these three. However, being a noob, I am unfamiliar with these three :oops: advice ?

Thor Q1. - $119

Moose M1 - $99

MSR VX1 - $99

They all have free shipping but I don't know about level of armor etc, value, durability etc.

·
Registered
1,928 Posts
Welcome.

What do you want from boots? Any motorcycle specific boot is better than none. Are you planning on doing a lot of off-road? If so spend more money for better protection.

A full up off-road boot will have good ankle protection but will be stiff unless you spend even more money for a hinged boot. I wear Alpinstars Tech 6 (since replaced by the 3s I think) all the time because I don't see the difference between a rock, curb, bumper, etc.

·
Premium Member
432 Posts
I use the TCX Air Tech Gore-Tex Touring Boot for the daily commute and SIDI Adventure Rain boots for the off road stuff. Really like them both but the SIDI's offer much more protection. The TCX's are very cool in hot weather and you could walk around town all day in them as they are so comfortable. But, if I was going to pick between the two, the SIDI's would win.

·
Registered
47 Posts
My Dianese TRQ tour were $199 new.They have a gore-tex liner, shin protector and a wonderful pivot point that has saved my foot from hyper plantar flexion twice! Very comfortable walking too

·
Registered
138 Posts
I bought the adventure rain as well. Comfortable out of the box, strong waterproof (so far). Just real squeaky. A little annoying but The pros outweigh that one con.

·
Registered
219 Posts