Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
780 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm having to trailer the bike to Arizona for a ride and had posted a picture of the bike loaded up with the standard tie down straps to the handle bars. A link was posted on a tie down plate for $28 plus shipping. I liked the idea, but as a normal KLR owner, I'm cheap. But I'm also a former mechanic with tools in the garage, and I like to build stuff myself so I have no one else to blame when things break......
Well, I liked the idea so much that I saved myself $34 and made some with some scrap I had around here. I had some aluminum 2" angle, (6063 I think, hard stuff) that was 1/4" thick. Should do the trick, so the Sawzall came out and I started in with my own design.

First I tried a cardboard template, and that didn't fair so well. So I grabbed some thin aluminum sheet and got the basic plan down. I took the left side cable bracket off and used it for a hole pattern.
I left the 1/4" aluminum on the side and started with some thin sheet (old sign stock) and started with the cable bracket for the hole pattern. Once the basics were done, I moved over to the .25 stock and just used the sheet template for the holes.

I put the two pieces together, traced out the shape, cleaned up the design, cut & drilled, and took them to the wire wheel.

I found two bolts with 12MM heads (my pet peave, stupid 13 heads) that were 1/4" longer for the left side, and the stock left bolts are longer than the right side. So I took the left ones, and moved them over to the right side. Only had to scrounge up two longer bolts that way. (confused on that one?)

Made sure the hole was big enough for the standard tie down hook, and hope that the load won't be too heavy to break 1/4" thick plate.

So looking at it straight on, they stick out a bit, but do not even come close to hitting or rubbing anything when turning.