Kawasaki KLR Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry for this question but, I am new to KLR's and wasn't able to find answers via search. I purchased a 2011 KLR 650 with 10K on the clock. The previous owner installed a DG pipe. Other than that, I believe the engine is stock. The bike easily starts up and runs great. However, I notice a very small flat spot just under 4K rpm's. It is pretty minor but I feel it. Additionally, I pulled the tank to fix a broken petcock. While I had the tank off, I pulled the plug. Plug itself, is in great shape however, Electrode is on the white side. Definitely running lean. I do get some popping on deceleration as well. air cleaner is foam. My guess is the previous owner did not rejet the carb after installing the pipe. As a result, I am thinking I have stock needle and jets in the carb. Hence, my question. Is the stock needle adjustable? I understand, here are no clips on the needle but wasn't sure if it could be shimmed. Not sure if I should just raise the needle (hypothetically, one position) or add next size larger main jet. Then again, I guess another (and maybe better) option is to install the KLX kit? Any and all thoughts are appreciated!

·
Registered
562 Posts
Best option is to get a KLX kit from EM due to the taper of the needle being more favorable.

If that's not an option or just for a quick/temporary fix look up the 22cent mod.

For what it's worth, the taper of the stock needle is 'all wrong' IMO. Not to mention it's not adjustable.

Best wishes

Reactions: CaptainBob

·
Premium Member
KLRs: 2013, 2005, 1998; 2017 HD Electraglide Ultra
2,731 Posts
Most folks here think the KLX kit provides the best throttle response and power, without losing a lot of gas mileage. There's also something quick easy and cheap called the 22 cent mod, because that's about what it costs. You can try that first, see if you like it, then order the KLX Kit from EM. See this thread:

·
Registered