Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Threadjacker
6,768 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
This is a free country, do what you want. This is how I feel. And the guys I ride with agree with me for the most part. Since I started riding bikes and scooters, I have believed in wearing the gear. I have been a hypocrite on one important point, which is why I'm throwing this up. Always have worn good boots, gloves, armored jacket, full face helmet. Pants. That's what got me. I got a pair of overpants back in the day, but I never wore them. Why? I like to have regular pants with regular pockets on. Weak, but true. So I compromised. For years I have had two sets of 'draggin jeans' kevlar long johns I wear under my pants. This may help some with abrasion. No padding, though. Off road, I'll throw on some knee/shin guards. But still weak.

As I've said, lately I have seen a lot of accidents. Also, lately I have been having a freaking blast climbing and running and playing with my girl. So, I decided to stop being a wuss and wear the pants. But I had to be realistic. It doesn't do any good if you don't wear it. My wife and I had some big talks (money is tight) and here is what I've come up with. I got some Bohn padded underwear (pads in knee, shin, hip, thigh, tailbone). And I got some Kevlar cargo pants. I mention this because I figure there are others like me. Guys who just want to wear regular goddamn pants with access to all the stuff in their pockets.

Well, the cargo pants I ordered from NewEnough have not come yet, but they came highly recommended. The Bohn came today, and I am super impressed with them.

I will start to be LEGIT ATGATT now. Now, as y'all know I've been out of work and dropping half a grand on pants and pads was a TOUGH, brutal decision, but we're talking about my legs for gods sake. I want to teach my girl how to ride, how to play soccer. I want to dance with my wife.