Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
689 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently started riding with a guy from my church. Butch is same age as me, a V.N. Veteran and his main ride is a Harley. Over time, I got him in the habit of wearing ATGATT. Well, we go for a 200 mile ride yesterday, and I notice he is riding faster and, shall we say "Assertively" spelled aggressively..... When we stopped for lunch he agreed that now that he feels more protected, he tends to go faster, take curves sharper, etc. My question is has anyone else noticed this behavior in themselves or in others????

·
Premium Member
5,511 Posts
Interesting question that sparked my interest, masterlink. I did a little reading and this is a pretty good article: motorcycle ATGATT mentioned toward the end. The article seems to favor your theory. I also found it interesting that not only do people who gear up tend to take more risks, but so do the people around them who simply see them geared up, such as the example of motorists who will pass closer to a bicyclist wearing a helmet than they will to those not wearing a helmet.

I didn't wear riding gear for years but I do now. I think you bring up a good point that those who start wearing gear (perhaps especially for the first time) should be aware of its limitations and realize that it does not make them invincible.

http://wmoon.wordpress.com/2010/04/18/protective-gear-and-risk-compensation/

·
Registered
689 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Great article. Thanks. I went skydiving in Moab...I maybe should re-assess my own riding behaviors. One thing that I do every spring,without fail, is I go to a large parking lot down the street(Lehigh University) and PRACTICE braking at higher speeds/figure eights/circles/low speed maneuvers. I do it because I think it helps to stay sharp with those skills.

M

·
Registered
562 Posts