Kawasaki KLR Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
There is a relay or something that clicks when I push the starter button. I get 13 Volts on the battery side but on the starter side it doesn't register anything close to that. It just clicks ! Obviously the motor doesn't turn over. 1st gen, 2003 KLR, all connections have been cleaned up.
What is this part ??

thanks for your help
Primesandwich

· Registered
355 Posts
I am a small engine mechanic for the county here in Michigan and I see this ALL the time with the Briggs Vanguard engines used on our mosquito foggers.
Relays click, but no substantial output. They may even read 12V on the out side, but voltage and amperage are two different animals. I have found that starter relay contacts on the output side tend to burn or corrode over the years and not pass enough current to make the starter motor run. In the old days, many relays had a tin cover with little tabs you could bend back and access the innards, clean the contacts with a point file and it would be good for a few more years til they corrode again. I suspect if you are hearing it click, the solenoid side is functioning, but the main contacts are compromised and not passing enough current. Modern motorcycle relays are cheap in both quality and price. I would try plugging in another relay. You said all connections are clean so unless your starter actually shit the bed, it is the relay.

· Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I am a small engine mechanic for the county here in Michigan and I see this ALL the time with the Briggs Vanguard engines used on our mosquito foggers.