Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the KLR world having just purchased an '08. I'm 6'6", 240 and would like some advice on setting the bike up.

I saw the post on risers so will be getting some of those ordered.
Footpegs-is there a lowering kit or other pegs available?
Taller seats?
Windshield taller guys use?
How about bike settings? I don't have an owners manual yet so what adjustments should I make?

Thanks for the help!

·
Administrator
8,600 Posts
I'm new to the KLR world having just purchased an '08. I'm 6'6", 240 and would like some advice on setting the bike up.

I saw the post on risers so will be getting some of those ordered.
Footpegs-is there a lowering kit or other pegs available?
Taller seats?
Windshield taller guys use?
How about bike settings? I don't have an owners manual yet so what adjustments should I make?

Thanks for the help!
RECON -

Don't take this wrong, but you're way to friggin' big for the suspension.

And so am I. You've got a couple of inches on me, but we're in the same weight range. You, know, Clydesdales!

You should call/look into Cogent Dynamics. Rick has a package which includes Racetech Gold valves and progressively wound springs for the front, and he will custom build a rear shock for the rear based upon your size and how and where you ride. It's not cheap, but it;' gotta be better than just setting the rear to max preload. My set-up is on the way.

As to the rest of it, I made my own seat, a copy of a Corbin flat, that I added a wee bit of height to. I haven't had to worry about any of the other stuff, so can't comment with first hand info.

Tom

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Tom (my fellow Clydesdale!),