Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2007 KLR 650
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 2007 KLR 650 has started running really rich. I bought it 6 weeks ago, went though all the basic maintenance, and have driven it almost daily since then without a single issue. Just this week it started running rich and stalling at stop lights. It carbon fouled the nw plug and I'm having to go to reserve tank at 200 miles after getting 250+out of the first 3 tanks I put through it. It smells like a gas station and blows black smoke at high rpm.
Should I start looking at the carb or the valves? I've been a hobby mechanic all my life and a professional off and on, I don't suck at it, but I am new to this bike, so any suggestions are appreciated.

·
Administrator
8,814 Posts
One thing that will cause it to suddenly run really rich is a stuck inlet valve. Fuel flows into the carburetor faster than the engine can take it in and use it.

Often, when the inlet valve is simply not sealing well, the engine will run OK at higher RPM but stall out at idle. With yours acting as it is the inlet valve could be stuck quite open. You may have a bit of selector gasket broken off and stuck in the valve.

Remove the bowl and remove the float and inlet needle, trying to capture anything that might come out so you can look it over. @pdwestman has recommended some polish on a Q-tip to clean the inlet valve seat. You can have a look at the inlet valve for hardening (possible on a 13-year-old valve needle) or wear, or simply replace it.

Reactions: NCJake

·
Registered
78 Posts
I, too, would start at the carburetor. Inspect the float valve needle and look for any debris in the float bowl which, if there is any, could be a clue.

·
Registered
150 Posts
Agree with above. Sometimes the current fuels will gum up the float needle passage and the float needle sticks on the open position. Also seen them stock in the closed position.