Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Apparently there's a knock-off header for Gen 1 KLR's on ebay. :surprise:
Has anyone tried one of these? If not, I'm half tempted to report back to everyone what the fitment and build quality is like.
They're shiny, but shiny isn't always good. I had ebay headers on my Legacy wagon when I had it. They looked nice and the welds were done very well, but I had to cut and lengthen the crossover by about 1.5 inches.

·
Premium Member
3,563 Posts
I have zero experience with that part or aftermarket headers for KLR's period....though I have had in other applications. I'd be concerned about the fitment, sealing surfaces and finish. Since the Gen2 header is a quality, tubular, SS pce, I'd personally buy a used one of those LONG before some Chinese knock off.

remember that a leak at the header to silencer junction can destroy the airbox......and a hole in the airbox (dirty side) can and will destroy an engine.

2 cents,
Dave

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have zero experience with that part or aftermarket headers for KLR's period....though I have had in other applications. I'd be concerned about the fitment, sealing surfaces and finish. Since the Gen2 header is a quality, tubular, SS pce, I'd personally buy a used one of those LONG before some Chinese knock off.

remember that a leak at the header to silencer junction can destroy the airbox......and a hole in the airbox (dirty side) can and will destroy an engine.

2 cents,
Dave
As I mentioned before, I'd definitely be concerned about the fitment. But I loved my FMF PowerBomb to FMF PowerCore4 on my DRZ400; however, FMF is a super reputable company. No sealing issues or fitment problems.
I even loved my DG slip-on for my YFZ450.
It's so cheap that I'd be tempted to just try it.

·
Premium Member
3,563 Posts