Kawasaki KLR Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I got my 22 yesterday, woohoo!!
I work nights and got home this morning and unloaded her off the trailer.
it was -4°C (24°F) and -9°C (14°F) with windchill. Not exactly cold, but she was outside all night in it.
enough so that the seat was frosty, and such. I did consider not starting it, but my quads have always started and ran in up to -25°C (-15°F), and I didn’t expect an issue.
Well, it wouldn’t even start. The battery didn’t sound like it was new with a full charge, but I’m also new to 650 thumpers.
It started instantly at the dealership, nice and toasty warm, inside. My Engine light came on, and after 3-4 attempts, I left it alone.
Are these bikes hard to start in the cold? -9°C doesn’t seem too cold to start a brand spank bike. I don’t plan on riding in that, but it’s not out of the realm of what I might wake up to in the spring / fall up in the mountains.
I’m always skeptical of dealers and their abilities to set up bikes. Right off the hop I noticed both brake lines not fully snapped down onto a clip. Not an encouraging sign.
I’m going to turn her over here in a bit, now that it’s a lil bit warmer and she’s been in the sun.
The image of the rings scraping the cylinder with molasses oil flashed through my mind. Gave me the whillies. lol.

·
Registered
60 Posts
sounds like you need a thermal blanket for your bike at night, just leaving her out in the cold like that. i tuck my bike in almost every night.
nonetheless thats a bummer. hope you figure out the reasoning

·
Registered
341 Posts
sounds like the dealer didn't charge your battery, put it on a charger.

there's no point starting the bike, especially in the cold like that unless you're going to fully warm the engine and oil and take it for a ride.

·
Registered
6,102 Posts