Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi,

I've ridden a 2008 KLR 650 for the last few years. A couple weeks ago it wouldn't start. I thought the issue was the starter motor but I checked and the starter motor works fine. So my next guess is that the engine seized.

I'm not a mechanic just someone who can hack things occasionally. So my question is, does it make sense to get the bike towed to a mechanic and if the engine is seized is it worth rebuilding or should I cut my loses now?

Background: I have been riding the bike around town, ie under 10 miles. The last time I rode it was a month ago. It ran and parked without any issues that I noticed. I have recharged the battery and installed a new starter. Unfortunately it turns out the old starter still works so that wasn't the issue. The relay between the battery and the starter also seems fine. If I try to start the bike their is a loud clicking, I think caused by the starter motor. On hitting the ignition the voltage across the starter relay drops from 12V to about 3V and I think I can feel the pin in the solenoid drop if I'm holding it. I haven't changed the oil since last year but its not low and I only rode the bike about once a week.

Thanks.

·
Premium Member
6,702 Posts
Way too little info from you. Could be a simple dis-charged battery from your vague description.

Was it running when you last Turned IT OFF? Or did it DIE a sudden death while in-motion the last time you were riding it? When was the last time it was running? Two days, two weeks or 6 months ago?

It is doubtful that the engine 'seized' while motion-less over the winter.

·
Administrator
3,564 Posts
My vote is it needs a new battery.

·
Registered
389 Posts
My vote is it needs a new battery.