Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the KLR, I bought an 09 in July 09 and am starting to get extended warrany literature from Kawasaki. My gut tells me it is not worth it as it seems that most are comfortable with the reliability of the KLR. I must however defer to you all who have been around the KLR for more time. The warrany costs:

377 for 1 year
436 for 2 years
555 for 3 years
673 for 4 years.

Please give me your thoughts.

·
Threadjacker
6,768 Posts
This is just an opinion, albeit one many on here share. NO! Do NOT get the extended warranty. There are several reasons. One, it usually doesn't pay off. Two, dealer mechanics are butchers and WILL **** up your bike. The KLR is a pretty simple bike and you'll be able to do most of the maintenance yourself. Even for more complicated stuff, if you hang around here long enough you'll meet someone who can help you with the more challenging tasks. But the big reason is that the dealer mech's suck. If I do have a big issue with the bike that I can't deal with and none of my friends can deal with, it will go to a private shop that has a good reputation.

My .02, the extended warranty is a scam at worst and a waste of money at best.

Congrats on the new(ish) ride!

·
Premium Member
4,753 Posts
OLIVE OIL!!

Oops, wrong topic..

It's purely a personal thing.. I didn't have the choice when I bought my 02' KLR since it was used, but a couple years ago I bought a new GoldWing and passed on the Extended Warranty..

Much like the KLR, I don't remember reading to much about how either of these bikes are typically falling apart and breaking down..

It's a decision that really only you can make.. Were it me buying a new KLR, just as I did on my Wing, I'd pass. Although, the Wing came with a 3 year warranty, so that had some bearing into the issue... 2 years into it, the closest the bike's seen to a dealer is on the road as I've ridden past.