Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm from Grand Junction, Co. We have tons of beautiful riding here, both blacktop & offroad. I've been riding for almost 20 years, all Harley. I've wanted to get into adventure riding since I watched Long Way Round. After riding & pricing BMW, KTM and the KLR, I see that the least expensive way to get into the world is the KLR. I also see that the KLR has a serious cult following. Most of my riding is local, in the valley. Sometimes I take off for the front range which is only 300 miles or maybe to Moab which is only 100 miles. From what I see, the KLR should be plenty comfortable for those distances.

Locally, I see used KLR 650s in the $4,000 range. From what I've heard & read, you can't really go wrong with a used bike.

What I'm curious about is this, is there a bad year? I know Harley had some bad years but I don't think Kawasaki KLRs ever experienced this. Are they all pretty much good? I'll have to decide on whether I want old body or new body, but I think that's about it.

I appreciate being allowed to the group and I'm excited to enter the KLR world.

·
Registered
541 Posts
Welcome Kblack!

I did an adventure trip out to Moab several years ago. What a place! If I lived 100 miles away from there, I'd probably go there every other weekend. :smile2:

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Did you haul your bike or ride it? How far? I'm just curious about distance riding on them. I'm sure a lot of that is up to the rider & the set up of the bike.

·
Registered
541 Posts
So far, I've been able to avoid having to haul dual sport motorcycles around. However, the trip that included Moab was on a large adventure class Super Tenere that was more suited to longer distances. Having said that, I personally know a guy from South Florida that rode a KLR650 from the southernmost point in Keywest all the way to Pudhoe Bay and back. I doubt he was the first.