Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
341 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Getting ready to replace the OEM doohickey. Got all the parts; got the tools. (Thanks, Eagle Mike!).

What's the concensus; lay the bike over on its side, or can it be done on the center stand?

I also have a bike lift, if that's a better option.

Mine is a 2009, with Happy Trails center stand.

Thanks for advice,
CL

·
Registered
59 Posts
I did mine on the side stand because that was the only option. We leaned it over to the left for about 5 minutes to do part of the job, but that was it. I would use the bike lift if that was an option, get it up higher to make your work a little easier.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Im no expert and have not done this yet but have read more than I care about the subject. I did see a good video tutorial that i think is on youtube. The bike was on a full lift. both tires on the lift. can't remember if it was on a center stand on the lift or just strapped in place. probably the best way in case you drop anything?? maybe? not sure if that would be better than having things dropp towards the engine instead of to the bottom.

·
Registered
341 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I am wary of using my bike frame lift due to the 130 lbs/ft bolt that I need to break loose. That kind of torque with bike on frame lift could be dicey!

Should crankcase be drained of oil?

CL

·
Registered
59 Posts
I am wary of using my bike frame lift due to the 130 lbs/ft bolt that I need to break loose. That kind of torque with bike on frame lift could be dicey!

Should crankcase be drained of oil?

CL
I didn't think about the torquing of the bolt....

I used the side stand, it wasn't a big deal, just had to work sitting on the ground looking up. The good thing is if you did drop something it wasn't going to go in too deep. I think a center stand would have made the job easier.