Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Trying to get my post count up so I can post photos of my bike, so will use it by asking random questions! I'm still very new to this

Wanted to see how far I can go with a full tank and did about 350kms (about 220 miles) before it started stuttering which I assumed meant I was running out of fuel.

Pulled over, switched to reserve and did about 10kms before filling up again.

Realised today after another 32 kms (20 miles) that I haven't actually switched the fuel back on after refuelling!

So my questions are:

1. What happens if you forget the reserve on, do you simply run out of reserve fuel until you switch it back to on?
2. How far on average can you go on the reserve tank?

·
Registered
1,260 Posts
There are two pickup tubes in the tank. The one for the main fuel "ON" is a couple of inches above the bottom of the tank, so when the fuel drops below it there is some left in the tank. The "RESERVE" pickup is at the bottom, so the remainder of the fuel can drain down through it.

If you leave the petcock in "RESERVE", the full tank from top to bottom can drain to the carburetor. You just won't have any warning that you are getting low on fuel.

For getting your post count up try just making 15 replies to your own post here. Just post "reply 1, reply 2, reply 3, ....... until your count is high enough to post photos.

·
Premium Member
2,903 Posts
What GoMotor said. I used to run my race bike on reserve all the time knowing that I sometimes needed that last little bit to get back to the pits and couldn't afford to take the time to stall out, switch the selector and restart.

Also don't forget the "secret reserve".....basically you can't drain all the fuel from the right side of the tank so if you run out completely, you can tip the bike over on the left side and transfer that fuel so it can be used.

Dave

·
Registered
241 Posts