Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently installed the eagle mike doohickey and torsion spring. I have been using permatex #2 non hardening sealant for many years on automotive stuff and some motorcycles with good success, but it has failed to prevent leaking of the left side inner case of this KLR650. I spread a thin coat of it on both sides of the gasket before installing. The surfaces look good, not scratched and they cleaned up nicely. They may be slightly warped??? I don't know why it didn't seal.
I found metal gaskets sealed with red RTV when I removed the cases. Somebody else probably had the same problem ??

Anyway,
I will need to take it apart again, put in a new gasket and seal it with something that will work. I am hesitant to use RTV/Silicon where there is engine oil. Silicon has been known to break of small pieces inside the case and clog up the oil system in other bikes.

Any suggestions and/or opinions on what has worked for others or the best sealant / gasket maker to use on the left side cases would be much appreciated. Since my go-to #2 has failed me I'm left with a seemingly endless list of product options, dozens from permatex alone.

·
Registered
60 Posts
I made this mistake when I performed the doohickey upgrade:

I was finishing up at night by flashlight and was in a bit of a hurry. I somehow didn't get two bolt holes aligned with the outer gasket and instead of the bolts passing through directly into the spacer, they punched through the "dog ears" of the the gasket. I didn't catch it at first, but eventually there was quite a bit of oil spitting out of that section of gasket.

I removed the cover and installed a new gasket, this time with a thin bead of black RTV to hold the gasket in place when I installed the bolts.

Problem solved.