Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
412 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, here in the wonderful land of Phoenix, I find myself very frequently having to cruise at 80mph due to not wanting to be run over. But, the RPMs as you know get a bit high. I don't do any low speed super technical off road stuff.
So, my question is, what should I look for to lower my 80mph RPMs without severely impacting my low speed riding?

·
Premium Member
1,263 Posts
By going to a 16 tooth counter sprocket, you can lower your RPM's by about 300 PRM's @ 70 MPH. Stock tires for the KLR 650 are 130/80-17. By going to a 120 or 130/90-17, you can drop a few more RPM's.

There are options for the rear sprocket, I have no experience with them. The 16 tooth front sprocket still allows me to putz and putter on forest service roads and get across creeks. Any higher gearing would prohibit this kind of riding. I wouldn't be able to get home.

·
Registered
1,928 Posts
So, here in the wonderful land of Phoenix, I find myself very frequently having to cruise at 80mph due to not wanting to be run over. But, the RPMs as you know get a bit high. I don't do any low speed super technical off road stuff.
So, my question is, what should I look for to lower my 80mph RPMs without severely impacting my low speed riding?

You know that the speedo is off yes? Mine is exactly 10 percent high (GPS verified). Before I got the GPS I always had cars on my butt!

I run a 16 tooth front but I also stay off freeways.

·
Registered
412 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
ya, I GPS'd mine as well. But unfortunately, being I live in Phoenix, I have to take freeways. That or leave really really really early. Eff that.

·
Registered
76 Posts
Try the 16 tooth. It is a cheap item and fairly easy to change out. I found it OK with nothing on the bike but me. In the end I went back to stock gearing. I seldom run the expressway and the stock gearing just works better for me.

·
Premium Member
1,263 Posts

·
Registered