Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to 2nd gen KLR so I'm stumped - the manual says to shut off petcock when storing, but the petcock is vacuum activated so it's irrelevant - what is relevant is that after a week the carb is dry and Kawasaki didn't put a prime position on the petcock - the dealer said they used to have one - so I grind and grind the starter to fill the carb - is there anything I can do that's smarter than killing the battery and starter?

·
Premium Member
3,206 Posts
Welcome to the Forum Lee_T ! I have a 2011 and even when I leave it sit over winter is doesn't turn over twice before starting. I got rid of the vacuum operated fuel valve and installed one of the manual valves from a Yamaha 660 Raptor. Minor rerouting of the fuel line was required. You can get one from:
http://www.eaglemike.com/Manual-Petcock-for-KLR650-mpcy.htm

Check out the rest of Mike's site too. Big KLR supporter and great guy as well!
Regards....justjeff

·
Registered
5,558 Posts
I'm new to 2nd gen KLR so I'm stumped - the manual says to shut off petcock when storing, but the petcock is vacuum activated so it's irrelevant - what is relevant is that after a week the carb is dry and Kawasaki didn't put a prime position on the petcock - the dealer said they used to have one - so I grind and grind the starter to fill the carb - is there anything I can do that's smarter than killing the battery and starter?
"After a week the carb is dry . . . "

Just wondering; where does the fuel in the float bowl GO?????????

Doubt it can evaporate through the jets in that time; maybe I'm overlooking another pathway.

Mine generally starts with application of STARTING ENRICHER, rather independent of storage time.

·
Premium Member
5,480 Posts
Mine does the same thing.