Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:D I am new to the KLR and coming back to motorcycling after an 18 year leave of absence. Really my Motorcycling experience is no where near the level of most the members here. When I was a youngster (19) I had 3 incidents with street bikes in 28 days without ever swinging my leg over one. 2 with my cage and one as a pedestrian. In all 3, the bike rider was at fault. So no, I was not doing any targeting. I figured if I cannot keep from crashing with a motorcycle while not riding one, I had better stay away. It just kind of scared me.

Bu....ut, being as I have never outgrown my desire to play in the dirt, in 1984, I had an opportunity to ride a Honda 250R at JTB and Southside BLVD here in Jax when it was Sand dunes. Now, it is home to Blue Cross/Blue Shield. I know it has 3 wheels but after riding the 250r, I said I have got to get one of these. The Navy sent me to Northern California, just north of San Jose. Moffett Field for those familiar with the area. If you are ever in the area on Hwy 101 in Mountain View, look for the large Blimp Hanger from WW II.

I bought my first thumper, but again it had 3 wheels not 2, still scared I guess. It was a Honda 200x. I pretty much lived at Pismo Beach on weekends for the next year. After a year, one of my fellow aircrew members said had a ?79 YZ400 (not a thumper, but it scooted) he wanted to unload. So I said, it is not a street bike, I will give it a shot. This thing was probably not any safer then a street bike. I think it would have climbed a tree with the right rider.