Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
When I was designing my rack for the four week trip I just returned from around the Southwest, I really appreciated other people's photos and input online. So, I thought I would put some photos up here in case they can help anybody else.

This is my first motorcycle, I bought it just a few weeks before the trip. I had never even ridden on a freeway, nor anywhere fully loaded before I departed on the trip. Keep that in mind when criticizing my design. The rack performed exceptionally well on and off road. The stout ammo cans even protected the bike when I layed it down in the soft Utah sand (I was/am a total newb offroad). Also, I am no welder. I just took a beginning welding class at my school so I could make this, and the rack was my first experience using a TIG welder, so it's pretty sloppy. I just tried to overbuild it to compensate for my poor welding job.

Total Cost:
30 feet of square steel tubing: $20
ammo cans: $30/each
hardware: $10

·
Registered
176 Posts
Too many apologies in there! Don't apologise for your riding skills,;we all started somewhere and don't do your fabrication work an injustice - be proud of what you did. I think it's a fine testament to your skills for your rack to have lasted an on/off road trip with no issues.

I had a professionally manufactured Renthal rack that I certainly can't speak as highly of! What a waste of money that was! Grrr!

Anyway, congratulations on taking the bull by the horns and getting the job done. Particularily like the relocated indicators - nice job! :)

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
You're right, UK...I always brace myself for insults when posting anything online, but I forgot that the KLR community is not as harsh a critic as the rest of the web.