Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding cruisers for a few years now (currently have a 2001 Kawi Nomad bagger with the fairing and all), and my son asked me for a dirtbike 2 years ago. I found a good deal on a little Honda Z50 for him to learn on, and picked up an '85 KDX200 to chase him with. After many frustrating hours trying to keep that ratbike of mine running, I sold it to a bike mechanic for his kid to learn on, and started looking for a dual sport. I did a lot of research, and lurked on a few sites, and decided the KLR650 seemed like the best pound-for-pound dual-sport money could buy.

Today I bought a 2001 with 17,000 miles on it, in pretty good condition for $2200. Previous owner had it for 7 years, did a lot of mods (doohickey being the most important), and decided it was time for a different toy. Only things wrong with it are left mirror, hand guard, clutch lever, and choke switch pretty beat up from a close-encounter with a tree. Fairing and rest of bike are in decent shape for a 2001. Took it for a spin around the block, and Oh-boy is this different than my Nomad! But I can't wait to fix up the few small damages, and get her on the road or on the trails with my son.

Anyways, that's a long-winded noobie post, but now you know why I'm here and I'm looking forward to learning about my new ride, meeting some good people, and spending way too much time and money adding farkles and upgrading things on it like every other bike I've owned :)

cheers,
T

·
Lifetime Member
2,482 Posts
Hello and welcome to the forums :). The KLR is an awesome bike and your going to love it! Just too bad that it looks like our season is pretty much toast, I'm about 3 1/2 hours North of you and it's been snowing lightly all day with more in the forecast... Oh well, lots of time to fix the damages and get to know your new bike anyway! :)

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3