Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Folks. I’ve been riding a motorcycle as my sole transportation for almost five years now. My trusty Honda Shadow was stolen from me last week, and since it was my only transportation I needed a replacement. I’ve been wanting to get back into a bike that could tackle great obstacles my Shadow could never do. Like parking lot speed bumps, and packed gravel roads...
I just picked up a 2007 KLR with 30k miles and I absolutely love it. The height is like riding in the stratosphere compared to my Shadow. But I feel like I can do anything I want on this bike.
The bike is still very new to me and I’d love any tips on KLR specific maintenance I might not be aware of since all my shadow ever asked for was gas and oil.
I just learned about the doohickey (which was upgraded by the previous owner) that I’ll be resetting when I change the oil and spark plug (NGK iridium) this week. I’ve also read that 30k is about when the valves should be adjusted, which makes sense since it’s a bit slow to start cold in the morning. Are there any other pets I should be checking out to make sure I continue to have a fun reliable bike?
Thanks guys!

·
Registered
72 Posts
A good lock.....

Just kidding! Like you, I'm a brand new member and probably not the best ambassador! I had my KLR for several years, but it has been offline for over a year. I'm finding a new enthusiasm for it and presently getting it race ready! Scott

Nice shoes.

·
Premium Member
414 Posts