Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings!

Long been a fan of the KLR. A friend bought one new the first year they came out, 1987 I think, and I thought it was an awesome beast.

I don't have one yet although I do keep an eye out on Kijiji but the reason I'm here is that a friend of mine has a '94 that he's been having trouble with. It's been his daily driver for years and only let him down recently. He's not too hot on electrical issues and he doesn't do the interweb thing so that's where I come in.

I'm a service tech for boring non-bike related power equipment so I try to make up for it by wrenching on my own just-about-everything. There's a dominant Scottish frugality gene that runs strong through the male side of the family... And as this bike is 12 years newer than anything I own I knew my best bet would be to chase down a KLR forum and, look!, I found one.

I went and had a look at buddys' bike today and we sorted out some basic corrosion problems and fought valiantly to keep hydrated in the blistering heat. But now that I have a wiring diagram I'll have to go back over to check some more things out and start a proper post here to get the diagnostic ball rolling.

Looks like a good site here. I'm pretty familiar with the common forum etiquettes but if I step out of line or on anyones' toes I'd like to know.

Cheers!

·
Premium Member
432 Posts
Welcome to the forum Sam. It is a great thing you are doing by helping a mechanically challenged friend with his bike! I'm sure that if you run into any grey areas, someone here will be glad to help also.

BTW, my K-9 comes from a breeder in Kitchener!

·
Registered
285 Posts
"Say! I like green eggs and ham! I do! I like them, Sam-I-am!"
Welcome to the forum. This is a great place to get information and get questions answered. A good bunch of folks with a lot of collective knowledge.
And, just to let you know, there are other Dead Heads here.

·
Registered
7 Posts