Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Threadjacker
6,768 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Mrs. Lockjaw and I were discussing this over lunch. I'm sure there are gradations of everyone's unique definitions. When I first got here I thought y'all were out of your minds. Anyway, is it anything you add to your bike? Just fun stuff? Is an EM doohickey a farkle? Is a sticker? Luggage? The master cylinder cover I just put on?

I guess to me it is anything you add on that improves functionality or looks. Any differing opinions? Just curious. My wife thinks we're all insane. But she does think there is a difference between a farkle and an upgrade. She says "farkles are for fun". But that would mean a fork brace is not a farkle....or is it.

These are the big Q's amigos.

:16a:

·
Registered
272 Posts
just what is 'farkle'?

I have been working on motorcycles for my livelyhood since the early 1970's.
I have owned literally hundreds of motorcycles.
I had never heard of farkle, until I was working on a customer's KLR a couple years ago, or was it a DR, or a KLX, or a DRZ? Some kinda dualsport bike (with farkle). the rider was very proud of this farkle thing but could not explain the term. I found his farkle items to be a bit hokey, cumbersome and useless as far as being functional.
And I thought it was an odd term. One day I asked another klr guy what the term meant and where it came from; he explained to me it was the combo of the words: function and sparkle. (Thanks Mr. bfcasey for the enlightenment).
Now to me only the 'F' comes from function, the rest of the word comes from sparkle. I am not a sparkle kinda rider.
I am a function kinda rider. maybe a better term from my point of view might be 'funkle'. that splits the words better, but it is too funky, farkle is funky too though.
In my humble opinion sparkle is for posers. function is for riders, and riders ride. posers.....
each to their own.
let's ride.

·
Threadjacker
6,768 Posts
Discussion Starter #6