Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi ladies! I am new here :60:

Just took my MSF course and got my license this week. Now it is time to go shopping for a bike. I was contemplating the KLR 650, as one of my college guy friends had one and I used to ride with him a lot. He loved the bike!

I was looking at some cruiser-type bikes but I am just not feeling the love. They feel so...short! I had a Honda Rebel 250 to train on at MSF. I called it the tricycle. I have sat on some Honda Shadows and some Yamaha Vstars as well. Still feel short.

I am 5'11 and about 250 lbs...not a small size woman for sure :1: so I need something to fit me. As I mentioned, I am a novice rider. Do you think the 650 would be a good bike to start out on?

Thanks for any input or suggestions!

Vanessa

·
Threadjacker
6,768 Posts
KLRs are great starter bikes. You're right at the height cut off, though. Depends on inseam and whether you would be willing to or want to lower it. Have you thrown a leg over one? Can you get your feet on the ground?

If you can, KLRs are pretty awesome. ;)

·
Threadjacker
6,768 Posts
Oh, and I am not a lady, but not many people come in here. Might want to ask the Q in the main KLR forum. ;)

·
Registered
376 Posts
I am 5'11 and about 250 lbs...not a small size woman for sure :1: so I need something to fit me. As I mentioned, I am a novice rider. Do you think the 650 would be a good bike to start out on?
KLR was/is my first bike. I don't regret that decision one bit. It was never too difficult to ride. It certainly wasn't too powerful. :)