Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Although I'm new to the world of the KLR650, I am not completely new to the world of motorcycles. In the past, bikes I have owned came with tool kits that were simply not up to par. The question I have for the fine folks on this forum is... Is the tool kit that came with my KLR up to the challenge? Have you found the tools to be adequate for roadside repairs? Are there tools you have added to your kit that you won't ride without? I'm looking for any suggestions, advice, tips, or just some good conversation.

·
Registered
5,598 Posts
Not exactly Snap-On quality, but . . . the OEM tools remain, "better than nothing at all!"

Pre-'08's had "Phillips-head" machine screws holding plastic side panels onto the frame (removal necessary for seat removal, etc.). Understand "Generation 2" bike side panel fasteners are hex-head bolts; not sure whether the on-board OEM tool kit has a deep socket or extension to reach those; just a thought . . .

·
Premium Member
5,513 Posts
I go a little overboard as noted below. Even if you don't go as crazy as I did, you might want to scan through this list for any ideas. A lot of my kit focuses on being able to repair roadside flats.

http://www.klrforum.com/showthread.php?t=11152

If you don't mind carrying more tools, the best thing to do is just sit down some afternoon and start tinkering. Figure out what fasteners and parts you might have to remove in case something goes wrong and put them in your kit.

Every time you work on the KLR, work out of your kit: that way you'll find out if you don't have something in there you need to add, plus a lot of other folks brought up some good ideas.

My theory is if you've got room to carry it, it's better to have it and not need it than to really need it and not have it.