Kawasaki KLR Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

· Registered
2013 Kawasaki KLR650
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So this seems crazy but my 2013 KLR 650 wasn’t starting (after only running with choke for a few weeks even in the heat), so after doing research I figured I need to clean the carb. Start taking it apart and when i remove the seat i noticed that the vent* line that connects to the gas tank was gone! Just nowhere to be found.
Automotive tire Wood Motor vehicle Military camouflage Automotive wheel system

This is my first time working on this bike so i’m not sure how this could happen or if i’m looking at it wrong, i saw videos of people removing their seats and they had a line coming out of this hole which mine didn’t. Would really appreciate some advice here!

*update: not the fuel line, the vent line

Attachments

· Registered
2013 Kawasaki KLR650
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The fuel line is in the bottom picture. You must have ripped it off the petcock when you removed the tank.
Maybe i worded it wrong, when i took off the seat i noticed the tube thing (not sure what its called) that connects to the fuel tank was missing. I removed the 2 tube things that connected to the petcock to remove the tank.

· Administrator
10,241 Posts
Show us a picture of the left side of your carburetor.

Automotive tire Revolver Bicycle part Motor vehicle Gas

· Registered
2013 Kawasaki KLR650
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
It seems like someone had the same concern as me here a few years ago and you answered it haha. I guess its a vent hose and not needed? I just found this:

Onwards with cleaning the carb

· Premium Member
12,573 Posts
The Fuel tank CAP vent hose off of the rear nipple of the fuel tank simply keeps over-filled fuel tanks from dribbling Flammable Fuel from getting near a very HOT exhaust pipe when one fills-up Before eating lunch. Best to fill-up after a pee or lunch break.