Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can someone give me the part number for the non vac, petcock. I would like to change the one I have for my 2016 item. Thanks in advanace.

·
Registered
241 Posts
51023-0003
This is the 87-07 number, I "think" this is the one you need

·
Administrator
8,250 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Hi Tom. Is that petcock on your "thumper" feeding that new JUG?

Have not fired the Versys or Suzi up this year. The Aspen Alley ride was a good day trip, but about 30 miles short of a 500 mile day.

Again nice to meet you at Paul's shop. Mike

·
Administrator
8,250 Posts
Hi Mike!

Yes, I've been using that petcock for about 7 years now. I had it on my '08 on a stock tank and now on my '09 on the IMS10.

They work well, but yo have to get used to the smaller reserve and learn not to count on reserve getting you very far.

Tom

·
Registered
5,541 Posts
Anyone ever EXTEND the reserve tube on a Yamaha Raptor petcock?

I recall a procedure for converting the stock KLR petcock to manual-only operation, wherein the originator of the mod insisted on SHORTENING the OEM standpipe on the mistaken impression such action would elevate fuel pressure (it won't; static fuel pressure is determined by the vertical elevation of the level of the fuel in the tank above the carburetor only). The only effect of shortening the standpipe was reduction in reserve fuel volume.

The action apparently was based upon a second faulty premise, that static fuel pressure increase somehow increased performance. The static fuel pressure merely replenishes the float bowl content; fuel ingestion rate is determined separately by venturi vacuum (pressure differential) and effective jet orifice area . . .

Modifications indicating the pervasiveness of Internet tribal knowledge with respect to the KLR650 . . .

·
Administrator
8,250 Posts
Anyone ever EXTEND the reserve tube on a Yamaha Raptor petcock? . . .
Yes.