Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello KLR Community,

I have a 2009 KLR650 all stock (no doohickey) with approximately 15,000 miles on it and it is currently cranking but not starting. Upfront, I’ll say the symptoms and a few things I’ve tried. I tried cleaning the carb and putting on a new spark plug with no luck. The carb is refilling after trying to start, all of the vacuum lines look attached and in decent health. I’m getting good spark, have tried starter fluid in the spark plug hole and it backfired. It will now ocasssionally putter a bit but usually I get popping and hissing coming from the exhaust. I’ll give more info below, because I’m new to the innnerworkings of an engine and don’t know what piece of info is useful to more experienced mechanics. These threads have taught me that fuel, air, spark and compression are the keys so I’ll break it down into those categories.

Failure: I was riding the bike for a week after storage (with fuel stabilizer and carb drained). It was running great and then just died on when coming to an intersection. Seemed like a hard death and not the lurching one you get from fuel starvation. I was stranded for a while and then tried several of the push starts and was able to get the engine popping. But killed the battery trying to start, and had to jump it with a car and eventually was able to drive it home. Worked fine the next day, but had the same issue the day after.