Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I stumbled across this mod( advance exhaust cam 1 tooth) and wondered why there is not more discussion on it. I had some valve noise on my 2009 with just over 7000 miles so I checked clearances and they were all tight. Intake is .004 both, Exhaust is .006,.005. I am waiting for shims. Anyways with the possible gains from advancing exhaust cam, why isn't this a more popular mod? Any and all opinions welcome. OK There is plenty of discussion about this mod here on the forum, just none lately. I'm still new to this (5 months) apologies for my ignorance

·
Registered
5,569 Posts
Merit in the, "MC," mod, IMHO, requires a leap of faith.

Some pre-2008 owners report no gain; some post-2008 owners report power increases at different rpm (seat-of-the-pants dynamometers).

Your bike; mod it the way you like.

BTW, ever hear of the, "PCV VALVE" modificagtion? Some claim many diverse advantages from this procedure, including increased power. :)

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the response "D".I have heard of the pcv mod, advancing the cam costs nothing since I was in there. I still may try it though. As you have stated gains are relative . "Build it and they will come"

·
Premium Member
2,944 Posts
There are tons of threads on the subject but unfortunately many search engines have problems with two or three character words .....like MC for eg!

My 2 cents; On a Gen2, I'd probably try it......potentially you gain a little mid range tapering off at the top. perhaps a bit less engine braking too which you may like....or not. Results vary; from EM " The camshaft drive sprocket on the crankshaft varies in timing" from bike to bike.

On a Gen1, I've heard mixed results - enough so that I haven't bothered trying and don't intend to.....after all, we're talking maybe 1hp (less at peak)