Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been going through my new-to-me KLR, checking and fixing various things.

This weekend I opened the air box and found this. Looks to me like a K&N washable filter.

I suspect the original owner installed it and the previous owner never checked or cleaned it.

Couple questions:
  1. Do you think I'll be able to clean it or is it too far gone?
  2. Will cleaning this air filter change how my bike runs?

·
Administrator
3,609 Posts
Personally never been a fan of K&N filters. I think their marketing is great though. I’d replace it with a UNI or a OEM filter.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Yeah, that's pretty nasty. I've never used an K and N before so I'm not familiar with their cleaning process. A dirty air filter will definitely affect how your bike runs, mine won't rev out properly once the filter is dirty.

·
Registered
143 Posts
I'd double what klr4evr said and you'd probably be better off throwing that away in lieu of one that is more purpose-built. I've been using a pair of Twin-Air filters for 4 years - alternating them between filter changes - and they both look & work like new.

·
Registered
13 Posts
I have seen worse. The K&N filter is not the favorite on this forum, but I have run K&N filters on some of my other bikes. I always used the K&N recharger kit with filter cleaner & oil. That filter should clean up nicely, unless a different oil (like No-Toil) was used on it. I run the OEM filter on my KLR. Funny what you sometimes find on a pre-owned bike. When I was checking my new-to-me '09 KLR, I discovered a 1/4" hole drilled in the filter door. Inside, the filter material was coming apart at the glue lines & was like hard Styrofoam. It seems there had been a long term hard starting issue, so the P.O. made it easy to apply starting fluid, which totally destroyed the filter. The actual issue was poor spark due to the spark plug cap being loose on the wire.

·
Premium Member