Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have owned street bikes in the past and done some trail riding in the past. I do a fair amount of forest road exploring on my quad and want to get more out of my time away by riding to the mountains too. 80% sure KLR is the bike for me with DR650 & DRZ 400S still a remote possibility. I am not a handy mechanic, and know nothing about working on bikes. I'm not afraid to learn and try though.

Couple questions I'm hoping you can help with. Should I be concerned about 2008 or 2009 bikes on the market? I hear they burn oil. What should I expect a local shop to charge for a doohicky install? What is a reasonable # of miles to expect out of these bikes (should I be concerned of bike for sale with 35K+ miles on them)? THANKS.

·
Premium Member
6,829 Posts
One should check & maintain oil level on any sporting vehicle engine Before the 1st start EVERY DAY.
And at every fuel fill up until You are used to its habits with Your riding/driving style.
And because it is so easy to do,standing ahead and right of throttle, looking at oil window, I grab throttle with right hand while hooking my pinky finger on the front brake lever and stand the bike straight-up level, hold for 30-60 seconds to watch oil level rise to top of window or not? Done.

On the 08-09 bikes I'll suggest checking them every 100 miles, until you are familiar with them. And you just might find the one you chose has never ever had an appetite for engine oil. ;)

·
Registered
86 Posts