Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
(Note: The administrator moved my initial post over to the 2008+ Tech and Mods subforum, where I am getting help chasing several issues, including a high speed weave/wobble that occurs at 65+ MPH. Go there to see the problem isolation and fixes in progress. I’m reposting a shorter intro here so I can be found in the Introductions.)

I bought a 2013 last week. I’m a newbie KLR owner, although I have ridden and owned many motorcycles over 45 years. My other bike is a 2017 Harley Electrglide. I’ve always had a hankering for a dual purpose bike. I did own a Honda XL600 for about a year in the early 80’s, but never did much exploring with it, so I sold it. Well, I moved to the great Pacific NorthWet last year (near Vancouver, WA), and figured now’s the time to scratch that itch again. Plenty of roads around here that are gravel, Forest Service, logging, etc. that would be impossible on a road touring bike.

So last week I picked up a 2013 KLR, 27,000 miles, with a bunch of mods already done to it. The seller was a serious offroad guy, so he spent thousands of bucks on a lot of things to improve its off road capabilites. And, as you might expect, it’s been ridden hard. It doesn’t have an unscratched panel on it. But it seems to have been well maintained. Here’s most of the list:

Jesse Luggage Challenger 45L Top Box
Jesse Luggage Oddesy 11 Panniers and mounting rack
Touratech Explore HP Rear Shock (with external preload adjuster knob)
Progressive Mono-tube Fork Cartridge Kit
K9 Fork Brace
SW Motech Skid Plate
SW Motech Tool Box
SW Motech Mirror Extenders
Doubbletake Mirrors w/ Ram 6in Extension
SW Motech Rear Brake Cylinder Guard
SW Motech Foot Pegs
SW Motech Center Stand
RoxRisers 1.5in
ProTaper Handle Bars
Oxford Heated Grips
KLR Dash
-2 12v Power Plugs
-Voltage Meter
-Aux Switch
2 Ram Balls on Handlebar Clamps
Givi Windscreen Support and Fairing reinforcement