Kawasaki KLR Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings all!

I’m a newb with a new to me 2018 KLR650. New to reading tire wear. Pretty sure this year tire is done (5,600 miles on stock). Anybody mind taking a look and telling me what I’m looking at as far as “wear bars”? It seems like this tire has bare center tread?

Any solid recommendations for rear replacement tires for 80/20 street/trail.

Thanks in advance!

Nic

·
Registered
78 Posts
Welcome…be hard to take a look without a pic!
Have a read of this thread.

·
Premium Member
9,555 Posts
It seems like this tire has bare center tread?

Then it is past contact with the wear-bars, but if one had to, it would probably run another 200-500 miles (before touching cords) to get home from a long road trip. Rather than searching for a new tire on Sunday & Monday when most of the bike shops are closed.
When you change it, put a lock-blade or rigid hunting knife down thru its center-line to inspect its remaining rubber above cording.

Any solid recommendations for rear replacement tires for 80/20 street/trail.
Many riders like the Kenda K761's or Shinko E705's for that 80/20 usage.

·
Administrator
4,080 Posts
5600 miles on a stock rear tire is pretty good and without seeing the pictures I'd say it's probably time to replace it. As @pdwestman mentioned the Kenda 761 and Shinko 705 are great 80/20 tires. I've run them both. Get a little more wear out of the Kenda. Couldn't wear out the Shinko front.

I recently bought a set of Shinko 700's, which are more 60/40, which I hope to try this year.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Welcome…be hard to take a look without a pic!
Have a read of this thread.
Dang. Sorry. Here’s the picture. These are the stock tires that came on the bike… (5,600 miles on the odometer) so I’m presuming there USED to be separation on the tread “islands” along the center line… ?

I’ll check out that link. Thanks!