Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. need help. I have a green 06 klr... Never had any problems with it. done just general maintenance on it..I went to leave work, and the head light, tail light and dash lights are out.. bike runs fine. neutral light works. brake light works. parking light works, blinkers work....This is the first issue I have had with this bike. sad to say, I don't even know where fuse box is....right now its my only ride, so I need to fix it quick.. I am not a good electrician, so please be patient with me....thanks

·
Registered
259 Posts
Fuse box should be under the seat. If it is a fuse it could also blow from a short. A wire may have rubbed through and is touching the frame somewhere.

·
Registered
368 Posts
Those are all on a single fuse. As vinnie says it could be a short anywhere on that circuit.

Those glass fuses also come apart after enough years of rattling around. I'd replace the fuse and carry a spare. Check the wires for to all those lights for worn or pinched areas but don't panic if you don't find anything.

Lots of people change the fuse holder to use blade fuses. Glass fuses have worked for my KLR for well over 40,000 miles.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
thanks guys, good advice... yea ,it was the 10 amp fuse under the seat. Not sure why it blew, but just have to keep a eye on it....I bought this bike in 08 with 1400 miles on it... it has 18000 now....I live in Colorado, and bought it to drive to mtns, and trail ride.. turns out its a little too big for that.. I lowered it so get my feet on the ground...I still use it for dirt roads and county roads, and for camping.. it will carry all my gear for a camping trip....which is cool.. I have been putting off doing the valves.. still starts easy, but I know its due..... never done a cup motor before.......I keep it because its reliable and tough...

·
Registered
1,481 Posts