Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright guys, I'm brand new to klr's. Been riding my whole life but dual sport is new to me. I've got a 13 with around 1800 miles on it and its getting close to time for new tires. I ride 95% of my time on road, however, the 5% I want to go off road, I really get into. Deep mud, pretty decent climbs. I ride the thing like a dirt bikes basically. I love the look of a good knobby tire, and the fact that i can ride well off road, but longevity is a big concern for me.

I need help with a tire. Id rather not have to change it every 1500 miles, because i just dont have money to spend on tires every 2 months or so.
Was thinking about shinko 705's... how big can i go on the rear with a tire like that and still have clearance? Anyone have other suggestions?

·
Administrator
3,609 Posts
If longevity is a concern a knobby tire isn't what you want. For what you describe you may be best outfitted with another set of wheels with knobbies for that 5% of off road requirement.

I've run the Shinko 705 and it's an alright tire. For the same money though I prefer the Kenda 761 which will outlast the Shinko by quite a bit in my experience.

Use the Forum Search feature and you'll find similar threads about tires.

·
Premium Member
1,585 Posts
Disclaimer: I do this but legally it's not safe.

Dumpster diving!!! Specifically the tire recycling rack. I go at nite but EVERY
dealership I asked if I could grab a couple of tires to make a swing they letcha
have them and don't have to pay a disposal fee. Notice you can buy used car tires
but not motorcycles? Liability issues. The reason I go at night is so I can shop for
the best one's and inspect every inch of it to make sure it has no broken belts or
punctures. The employees will know they are losing a sale if they are there and see
you checking sizes and amount of wear. I've even had a cop or two roll up on me