Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 102 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings,

I have a few questions about my 2005 KLR 650 project I just picked up.

The fuel system was completely removed and I have to put the tank and all the lines back on, I have searched but not found what one of the lines I have in the box from the previous owner is, its some clear rubber hose, its stained sort of rust color.

Also, I am new to KRLs in general, what is the second throttle cable used for? This one needs a new grip assembly and while I could just order a bunch of OEM parts, I was wondering if there were newer offerings that work well.

Last question, on top of the coolant reservoir there is another tube, what is the purpose of this tube and how was it routed through the bike?

Thanks in advance, I have gotten the bike to start briefly on carb cleaner after completely redoing the wiring harness, this was very exciting but it still has a long way to go before I get to take it for a spin!

·
Premium Member
6,848 Posts
There are only 2 translucent hoses used as stock & standard parts on a KLR650. 1st one is a 12-18 inch long 1/4" diameter carburetor float bowl air vent on the upper LH side, route it down along the shock spring.
The second one is only a 3/16 x 3 inch section which attaches the flooded cell battery nipple to the larger black rubber hose, which passes thru the RH forward tip of the rear inner fender and then thru the wire hose retainer on top of the swingarm.

The standard Keihin CVK40 carburetor has a throttle plate with a light weight spring, to ensure capability of closure in the event of cable fraying or damage they used a opening & closing cable.

The top coolant tank Vent Hose routes to the LH side of the frame spine & CLEAR back to the Left Rear turn signal/Tail light area. Keeps any slippery coolant off of tire tread.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #3