Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have a 2009 KLR-650. I'm upgrading my front end. I'm new to working on bikes in general and so I'm totally new to front fork work. I've been searching the forums for info on what weight fork oil to use when I install a new set of progressive front fork springs, that I just got in the mail, in a few days.

My bike is setup with Happy Trail Teton panniers, and a 45 liter Givi trunk box. and I'm hoping to do some good longish distance adventure rides this summer across the NW and up to Canada a bit. Today, I was testing some heated gear out on the superslab, and man the front end definitely is squirrely - especially around 70 mph in the stock configuration it's in now - and of course when coming up on and passing semis too. I'm hoping these progressive fork spring, fork oil change out, and fork brace mods will combine to help improve things - for the highway stability at least.

I weigh 220 lbs, and I ride a variety of - long distance highways and superslab (50%); dirt single track trails at the ORV park (20%), and logging roads (30%). I'm hoping to get some help on:

1) OIL WEIGHT - Which oils weights to consider and what they would do

2) OIL VOLUME - how much oil volume to put into my forks and how best to install it - I'm assuming from other posts, I will empty the stock oil out, and with the springs out - compress the fork before replacing with oil. Do I have to take the fork off the bike?

3) OIL MEASUREMENT and ADJUSTMENT - The best ways to measure the oil / remove what is not needed / get the oil equal. Do I need to buy a turkey baster?

4) SPACER LENGTH - How much spacer to use

5) PRE-LOAD RECOMMENDATIONS - What pre-load is recommended.