Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been riding motorcycles since I was 10 years old (about 30 years) and have owned or riden almost every type/style of motorcycle out there.

Prior to 2005, I have had a total of 2 flat tires, both of which were caused by me doing something foolish (extended burn-outs at a race & catching "alot" of air on a logging road at 80mph) and the second nearly ending my youth.

Now the KLR, bought new in '04 and in the first year - 2 rear flats, (after which I installed ""Monster Tubes" front and rear), second year - 1 front 1 rear, third year - 2 rear flats (installed new tires and tubes), and last night - look at bike in garage and rear tire is flat again (hasn't been riden for a week, and checked it 3 days ago all fine).

Out of 6 rear tire flats, only 2 were due to punctures, the rest all from valve stem area failures:mad0235:

I am wondering if this is something unique to this bike/rim or have any others out there experianced this as well? I run everything at the correct pressures and everything is checked at least twice a week.

Turbo

·
Threadjacker
6,768 Posts
I've never heard of anything like that, my friend. If I were you I would have an exorcism performed.

Not trying to make light, that is a drag...I too have owned a cursed vehicle or two in my time. :mad0235:

·
Premium Member
2,453 Posts
Could the rear tire be slipping on the rim? Low tire pressure? Rim lock?

·
Registered
46 Posts
might want to check around the valve stem hole in rim for metal burrs of some sort. If tire pressures are in recommended range there is definitly some sort of problem. Might also what to be sure tube is seated on tire to let valve stem go straight out the hole easily.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for all the suggestions guys, but all that have been mentioned have been looked at (with the exception of an exorcism);
-Tire pressure 28-30 lbs (max rated @ 40lbs).