Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,009 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

9 years ago i graduated highschool and turned 18, the day i graduated i was presented with this. I had always wanted a dog of my own growing up to go bird hunting with, my wish was finally granted as well as a little responsibilty lesson to go with it.

I raised this pup the best i knew how, but it was easy, i always remembered a little advice my buddy once told me. "whenever she does something bad or wrong dont get mad, because after all it is just a dumb dog" i set out to make this dog into something better than that. we trained and hunted together and spent the next 6 years were awesome, i can can honestly say i had the best grouse dog in northern wisconsin. i can remember one day she kicked up 19 grouse 4 woodcock and 3 rabbits. my piss poor aim was making me look een worse that day, we walked out with 5 grouse 2 woodcock and 1 rabbit. but during the bird season of 2010 there was an incident.

the neighbor kids were home just after school and were jumping on thier trampoline, we lived on the edge of a swamp wilderness and the sounds of the kids playing drew in a wolf. my dog went to investigate and got pretty tore up. over 300 stitches inside and out puncture wounds in her snout by here eye that went into a nasal cavity and a pretty muched up head. she never was quite the same after that.
about 6 months after the attack she started getting siezures and they got worse and more frequent so we got her on some medication to stop them. it worked for a while, she would still have one occasionally but not bad. after a year and a half she was on the maximum dose of meds and the siezure's still happened occasionally but less frequently until recently.

this morning at 5 am she had one that lasted over 5 minutes and she just couldnt snap out of it. after she did i made the decision that we had both had enough and there was nothing more to do.