Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,256 Posts
That statistic doesn't really tell us much. For example, I am something like 70% less likely to enter a claim on my truck insurance because something like 70% of my miles are on my motorcycles.

·
Premium Member
6,684 Posts
I'll agree with Both of the above statements.

I do believe that I watch-out for dangerous situations more than cage only drivers.
I've been telling people for 30+ years that dirt bikers make better street riders and cycle riders make better automobile Drivers.
I once even suggested to the gals at the DMV license renewal that we All ought to be required to take the Written test at every Renewal! Wow! They didn't want anymore work load!

But traffic conditions and laws get changed every so often. And the driving public are a bunch of 'lemmings'. For instance, "Left Turn ONLY" lanes. These lanes are for EXITING the roadway Only. I HATE drivers that use them as Right Hand Merging Lanes!!! One lemming see's the other do it, so they all start doing it.
This town I live in used to have a concrete median down the center of its Main Street.

·
Registered
1,481 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I agree that the short piece doesn't cover all possibilities but thought it worthy of consideration. Nothing presented is likely to change anyone's preconceptions so was intended only for interest.

I thought that I'd read research which showed that dirt riders have a lower on road accident rate than road only riders but can't recall if that applied to riders who begin by first riding off road or for those who ride both on and off. I could present a case for either but that would be more an illustration of my poor grasp of the issues than understanding, in all likelihood.