Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
I'm a newbie to both this site and motorcycle riding itself. I just finished a two-week trip around "The Loop" of Washington's Olympic Mountains on a 2003 KLR 650. I ran into an intermittent problem: After the motor had anywhere from two hours to ten to cool down, I would start a ride unable to shift from first to second. I'd hammer back down into first and try again, and by the third or fourth try it was shifting normally. Shorter breaks didn't seem to be a problem. I'd appreciate any thoughts. Bike ran great otherwise.

·
Premium Member
257 Posts
Sounds like a bent shifter fork from someone beating it into gear (not you necessarily). As the tranny heats up a shifter fork that is bend to begin with could warp far enough to not properly engage the gear dogs. Frankly, you shouldn't need to "hammer" a shifter that is a last gasp to get home with damage, tranny or clutch. I'd change the oil, filter, and drive it like a little old lady and see if it shifts nice when being babied. If that turns out OK, you and minimal tranny damage, but will still require open surgery, but less broken/bent bits.

John

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Thanks for your reply. On the advice of a seasoned rider I changed the oil/filter when the problem turned up. I replaced the clutch cable recently. It snapped overnight, not on the road. Could it be involved? It feels fine to me. I was also carrying a fair load of gear on this trip. You can see the bike on my blog: nomadsam46.wordpress.com

·
Registered
368 Posts
I replaced the clutch cable recently. It snapped overnight, not on the road. Could it be involved?
Motorcycles have trouble shifting when the clutch drags. They can also have trouble shifting when the oil is cool -- that cool oil is around the plates of the clutch.