Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone! I'm new to KLRforum.com but I have already learned a lot. I am in a predicament; My local dealership has a 2011 KLR 650 on brand new with 0 miles on it on clearance for $4720. I am 19 and am in college full time and I'm looking to get this bike for fuel mileage and just as a second vehicle. I've been riding a 1982 suzuki gs550 for the last year and its been ok until recently. I'm just really tired of the suzuki; its air cooled it maxes out at 65mph and I can go offroad with it. I've wanted a KLR for a long time, its my dream bike. I don't have the money right now so I would have to finance it, until I get my refund for student loans. I have enough money to afford payments until I can pay it off in full but I'm just stuck on wether I should get it or not. Its a pretty good deal for a new one and its THE bike I want. Would I be able to ride it at 55mph during break in? Thats the speed limit on the road I take to class and its about a 25 minute drive. I live in Minnesota and my uncle is a motorcycle mechanic. I'm 6'2 and 255lbs. Is the KLR for me? Should I get the KLR at this price? Any comments would be appreciated. Thanks, Jayson

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Also I should mention I live in an apartment with outside parking only but I have a private parking spot. If I get a cover would it be fine sitting outside? Will it tip if there is strong winds?

·
Registered
52 Posts
That is a heck of a deal, I might have bought new if I could have found one that cheap. I would ride it like I stole it from new, I don't believe it that break it in easy crap.

·
Registered
5,571 Posts
BEWARE the siren song of INSTANT GRATIFICATION, leex6221!

(Not that anyone who has heard this advice ever FOLLOWED it!)