Kawasaki KLR Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Like title states, a new rider with motorcycles, been practicing for dmv class M but class is still a month away. I have not gone near a highway, stay on roads that are 50 mph and below, I find myself nervous just climbing that limit, comfortable at 40-45 mph. Is this normal to work yourself up to speed limits? Been working on slow turns for DMV, working roads into this. Going by youtube videos, so self taught literally. I am having fun but worrying about my limits. I finally got a jacket, use MC boots and jeans for now, of course full-face helmet and gloves. Will my confidence and nerves get better with more miles? Seems to be going that way. Learning on a KLR as first bike.

·
Registered
1999 KL650A
92 Posts
I’m no expert, only about 1.5 years riding myself. KLR is basically my first bike too. But in my limited experience, yes! You’re right on schedule. And your confidence will grow with time. Knowing your limits and proceeding with caution is undoubtedly better than thinking you’re invincible & rushing into things your muscle memory & skill aren’t ready for yet.

I guess one thing to do is to make sure you’re building confidence with the proper technique, instead of getting yourself conditioned to do things improperly without realizing it. YouTube helped me a LOT! Honestly much more than the required mc safety class here in Oregon.

Just practice somewhere safe. I like church parking lots on weekdays. I’ve got lil cones & all. I also sometimes film myself to see what I’m doing from a different angle—I’ve been surprised at how different it looks from whatever video I’m trying to emulate lol, and that allows me to correct my posture or technique or whatever. But yea practicing riding/safety techniques has become like its own little hobby for me. I don’t plan on stopping that side of things anytime soon.