Kawasaki KLR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is pretty fun! My wife decided she wants to learn to ride, so we begin looking for a bike she can ride. Since she is only 5 foot nothing, it's gotta be small. Then I remembered that her older brother had a bike, and it's sitting in a shed in MO.

Well, long story short, we got the bike here to Colorado, and it's in better shape than I thought. It's a 1978 Yamaha DT100 Enduro- a tiny little two-stroke steet legal Dual Sport. It's perfect- she can flat foot it, and pick it up!

I've been working on it- it hadn't been started since 1983! carb rebuild, points, tires, chain, etc... It runs great now. Perfect for learning- soft low end power, geared low, lightweight.

Today we went to a parking lot and spent about an hour and a half learning. She is HOOKED! I had to come to work, but she didn't want to quit. We're off together on Tuesday, so we'll do more. Today, she got up to third gear, learned about braking, practiced figure 8's . She's picking it up quick.

Check out this video!-

http://media.putfile.com/Faster-27

·
Registered
603 Posts
congrats.Sounds like things are headed in the right direction with safety in mind.Thumbs up Hayduke!!!!

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Safety First! She WILL be taking the MSF course in the spring. But a friend of hers (another newb girl, who took the course) felt like it would be best to have at least some knowledge of how things work before the course. Less intimidating that way. Now that it is Nov., though, and with weather and no MSF courses nearby, she'll probably have it dialed before she takes the course. ;)

We started out just learning clutch and brake control, then slowly adding other elements. Any other suggestions?

·
Registered
603 Posts
Congrats Tami and Hayduke.Let the good times roll :h0064

·
Registered
93 Posts
Tami! Congrats, kiddo!